Modern Foreign Languages

Did you know that only 6% of the world’s population speak English as a first language?

In the United Kingdom alone, over 300 languages are spoken by children as their mother tongue. At St Peter’s, we offer Spanish or French from Key Stage 3 through to A Level, with a dedicated team that is passionate about inspiring our students to pursue languages. We also offer Polish as a GCSE and A Level option for native or near-native speakers.

Both French, Spanish and Polish are popular GCSE option choices, and we encourage students to opt for these important Ebac choices. Last summer, 85% of students achieved a grade 5 or higher in the French and Spanish GCSE, including four Grade 9s.  In Polish, 100% of the students achieved the top grade.

Current staffing:

Mrs J. Beamish – Head of Department                 jbeamish@sphs.uk.com
Miss C. Edwards – 2nd in Department                   cedwards@sphs.uk.com
Miss K. Foley                                                         kfoley@sphs.uk.com
Mrs A Watorska                                                    awatorska@sphs.uk.com
Mrs S Lord                                                             slord@sphs.uk.com
Mrs A Garros                                                         agarros@sphs.uk.com

We also work in partnership with trainees from the Universities of Gloucestershire and Bristol each academic year.